# AWARDS FOR RESEARCH AND CREATIVE WORK (2023-2024)

# ${\bf SEPA\,Awards}$

<u>Psi Chi Regional Research Awards</u> Porsha Nesbitt & Jared Nodine (Dr. Nelson) Sera Crookes (Dr. Hayes) A'Niyah Choice (Dr. Hayes) Emily Reidy, Carson Gamble, Sarah Powell & Cat Justice (Dr. Sleigh)

# Psi Chi Showcase Session

Porsha Nesbitt & Jared Nodine (Dr. Nelson)

**CEPO Showcase Session** 

Makelya Stevens & Jaz Wilson (Dr. Sleigh)

#### SAEOPP RESEARCH PRESENTATION AWARDS

Michelle Aguilar-Gaspar (Dr. Stovall) – 2<sup>nd</sup> Place Oral Presentation – Life Sciences (tie with Jamie White)
Ryan Carr (Dr. Jackson) - 1st Place Oral Presentation – Business
Be Kuhn (Dr. Hurlbert) - 1st Place Oral Presentation – Physical Sciences (tie with Abby Mervine)
Rachel Layens (Dr. Lima) - 1st Place Posters (tie)
Abby Mervine (Dr. Abernathy) - 1st Place Oral Presentation – Physical Sciences (tie with Be Kuhn)
Julianne Phu (Dr. Fernandez) - 3rd Place Oral Presentation – Physical Sciences
Jamie White (Dr. Grossoehme) – 2nd Place Oral Presentation – Life Sciences (tie with Michelle Aguilar-Gaspar)

#### **36TH ANNUAL UNDERGRADUATE JURIED EXHIBITION**

Samuel Pach - Best in Show

Zoe Margaret Gumangan - Dalton Brabham 2nd Place Award

Adelle Pruitt – LaRoche 3rd Place Award

Jeshaiah Green - Mueller Honorable Mention Award

Jeshaiah Green – Dalton Brabham Merit Award

Olivia Wearing - Springeri Studio Gallery Merit Award

Sarah Cranford - Lia Newman Merit Award

Audrey King - Tom & Kathe Stanley Painting Award

Samuel Pach – Tom & Kathe Stanley Sculpture Award

Nora Finnigan - Harriet & Martin Goode Award (in memory of Alf Ward)

Sarah Cranford and Kenny Ray - CVPA Dean's Awards

CJ Jeffcoat - Chair of Fine Art Award

Elania Poli - Chair of Design Award

Anaya Kpan and Radio McAda and Jenna Roesly – Gallery Practices Awards

Lee Blessing and Adelle Pruitt – Purchase Awards

## DEPARTMENT OF ENGLISH AWARDS

J. Spratt and Sandra Hagler White Awards

- Winner: Jamal Singleton
- Runner-up: Mariana Razo
- Runner-up: Sophie Pendergraft
- Runner-up: Sophia Moore

## Robert P. Lane Scholarship

• Winner: Maliyah Eichelberger

Annie Laurie Steppe Prize for Excellence in Freshman Composition

- Winner: "Book Bans" by Edward Williams
- Runner-up: "The Controversy of 'Gender Queer" by Allie Sinclair

## William A. Sullivan Undergraduate Writing Award

- Winner: "Gender and Chastity in Britomart's Journey" by Emmalynne Eshleman
- Runner-up: "The Implications and Consequences of Gender-Biased Biblical Language" by Paige Lillibridge

#### Benjamin A. Gilman International Scholarship

Austin Turley Ty'teona Shannon Alexis Becht Silvia Quiroz Velasquez

#### Phi Kappa Phi Study Abroad Scholarship

Lily Meisten

### South Carolina Humanities Student Scholarship

Shyanne Hamrick

# SOURCE AWARDS 2024

Best in SOURCE Poster Presentation: Jessica Morgan

Best in SOURCE Oral Presentation: Craig Stevens and Sera Crookes (tie)

Best in SOURCE Performance: Robert Eugene Lee, Jr.

Best in Social Science/Humanities Poster Presentation: Alexander McGinty

Best in Science and Mathematics Poster Presentation: Lannea Brown/Melanie Williams

Runner-ups in Oral Presentations: Sam F. Bell, Be Kuhn, Cierra Randolph/Morgan Dukes/Victoria Willams and Carrie Vaughn

Second Place for Performance: Joshua Treyvon Pringle

### INEZ BELL CASKEY AWARD NOMINEES & WINNERS

# **Humanities and Arts**

Winner – Paige Lillibridge

Nominee – Jasmine Diaz

## **Social Sciences**

Winner – Lauren Norton

Nominees – Catherine Windham; Hannah Switzer; Ollie Waters; Sera Crookes; Carrie Vaughn

# **Science and Mathematics**

Winner – Ryan Wernsman

Nominees – Matthew Brunet; Michelle Aguilar-Gaspar; Jessica Morgan